Lean, Mean & Green

Smoothie that is!

I have to admit I’ve been feeling a little run down lately. I won’t lie, school is stressful and it has begun to take a toll on what I would consider a relatively healthy diet. Luckily, I’m pretty tuned on with what’s going on in there and knew my body needed a rest and reset. This week, which I call “green week,” it’s time to clean house. I have been giving my body just what it needs by enjoying a raw diet devoid of anything other than strictly delicious vegetables and juicy fruits, kicking my unhealthy cravings to the curb!

I have found green smoothies to be an awesome and very satiating part of my reset. Green smoothies are quick, highly nutritious, and very affordable. I like to have one for breakfast and have found them to be an excellent, filling dinner as well. You don’t need a fancy blender to make a smoothie — mine is almost 10 years old and still runs like a pro! Make sure to rinse your veggies and fruits as well as chop them small enough so your blender can process them easily. Also, I find if I add the greens very last, nothing gets caught up in the blender. I feel light, healthy and refreshed already!

Here are a few recipes I came up with this week which are all vegan, raw, and gluten free. Enjoy!

1/2 cucumber
handful blueberries
1/2 cup to 1 cup H2O
1 small banana
4-6 kale leaves

1 beet
1 cup H2O
1/2 lime (juice only)
2 beet greens
4 kale leaves

1/2 cup melon
1/2 cup H2O
6 kale leaves

1/2 pear
1 small banana
1/2 cup to 1 cup H2O
4-6 kale leaves

What kind of nutritional changes do you make to your diet when you’re not feeling at your best?

4 thoughts on “Lean, Mean & Green

  1. Pingback: Healthy Holiday Tips! « Ground Happiness

Leave a Reply

